Our Board

Public charter schools are different from traditional public schools in a number of important ways. One of the main differences between public charter schools and traditional public schools is in the way governance is structured. Unlike traditional public schools, public charter schools are governed and operated by the Board of a private non-profit corporation. Board members are recruited or elected volunteers that are responsible for governance, budgeting, fiscal oversight, curriculum, operating procedures and strategic planning at the school, among many other responsibilities. The Board holds the school's charter, receives grants and funding, and is responsible for sound administration and oversight. The Board works closely with the Head of School and has a direct impact on the ultimate success of the school.

Board meetings are open to the public, and families, staff and community members are welcome and encouraged to attend. Meeting times are posted in advance of meetings on this webpage and on the school calendar.

More information about the role of the charter school board is available through the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (DPI) at http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/charterschools/policy/legislation/.

Board Members

First Name Last Name Position Email Address
Sam Kennington President kenningtons@arsnc.org
Matt Reyes Vice President reyesm@arsnc.org
Harriette Bailey Secretary baileyh@arsnc.org
Michele Knapp Treasurer knappm@arsnc.org
Jonathan Bell   bellj@arsnc.org
Sharon Bell   bells@arsnc.org
Marc Davis   davismarc@arsnc.org
Frank DiGangi   digangif@arsnc.org
Anna Johnson   johnsona@arsnc.org

© American Renaissance School