Our Board

Public charter schools are different from traditional public schools in a number of important ways. One of the main differences between public charter schools and traditional public schools is in the way governance is structured. Unlike traditional public schools, public charter schools are governed and operated by the Board of a private non-profit corporation. Board members are recruited or elected volunteers that are responsible for governance, budgeting, fiscal oversight, curriculum, operating procedures and strategic planning at the school, among many other responsibilities. The Board holds the school's charter, receives grants and funding, and is responsible for sound administration and oversight. The Board works closely with the Executive Director and has a direct impact on the ultimate success of the school.

Board meetings are open to the public, and families, staff and community members are welcome and encouraged to attend. Meeting times are posted in advance of meetings on this webpage and on the school calendar.

More information about the role of the charter school board is available through the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (DPI) at http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/charterschools/policy/legislation/.

Recorded Board Meeting

September 24, 2020 - Emergency Board Meeting

Current Board Openings

There is a current opening on the ARS Board of Directors! The application is linked below. Please email kam.brown@arsnc.org with any questions about board member responsibilities or the application process.

ARS Board Member Application

Board Members

First Name Last Name Position Email Address
Jonathan Bell   jonathan.bell@arsnc.org
Danny Carpenter   danny.carpenter@arsnc.org
Frank DiGangi Treasurer frank.digangi@arsnc.org
Caity Gordon Secretary caity.gordon@arsnc.org
Tracy Sain Chair tracy.sain@arsnc.org
Falon Speaks   falon.speaks@arsnc.org
Teresa Stewart   teresa.stewart@arsnc.org
Raphael Weeks   raphael.weeks@arsnc.org
Katherine Smith   katherine.smith@arsnc.org

© American Renaissance School